sick be gone

It’s beautiful outside today in Seattle. I’m working all holiday weekend through Monday. Which means I’m off the sick bus! I went back to class on Thursday which was a nice way to get back into class. An hour long class still intense, but still easy enough I wasn’t breaking out in a sweat until late into the class. I’m so glad to not be a zombie any more, it’s amazing to wake up and no longer be in a cloud of haze.

So Thursday, Teacher informs us costumes for recital will be distributed next week Tuesday, YES! Class started easy enough, plies of course, but we got to doing across the floor and I f’d it up so bad. It was a pique arabesque, step, glissade, assemble. I got stuck trying to do a pas de chat instead of an assemble, and I COULD NOT TEAR MY EYES FROM THE FLOOR. I knew the steps, I knew I could do the combination, but I found myself behind one beat, then two, then three, I kept colliding because we were doing it right, left, right left. I wasn’t fast enough and I just fumbled it all ughhhhhh. Ultimately I left frazzled that I couldn’t do something so “simple”. These things bother me, and I often then practice them at home until I feel more confident in them. The problem is, I’m usually doing it on pavement, or carpeted floor and the wrong type of shoes. I know I’ll get it, but by the time I get it we’ll have moved on to something else- hah.

I’ve decided this summer I’ll take classes all through at Exit Space. It’s a longer drive, but I’ll be able to carpool with my Husband so it won’t be awful. I’m really excited for a new dance environment. New challenges, and different methods of teaching.

I’ve also noticed new muscle tone! My bicep is getting very toned in a specific way. Not round mountains you see on strong people, but this very specific shaped almost looks rectangular/sharp looking bicep that shapes from the armpit to the end of the bicep. It’s amazingly cool!! Besides running this summer I think I’ll have to take up crunches and back pull ups. Oh boy! A whole work out regime, actually kind of excited haha!

Also, you guys, I’m so about ready to chop off my hair! It just grows so fast and it’s so long and heavy. I’m wish washy about cutting it though because recital is soon (not cutting it that short, just above shoulder). I think I should just cut it. Get it over with- ugh.

Leave a Reply

