A review: dancesupplies.com

You may have recently seen my post about my dance haul! I was a little worried about it, but overall excited too. I needed many new things for my upcoming Nutcracker performances, a nude leotard, new tights, jazz shoes, and some new things for my pointe work. I stuck originally with plans to make purchase from Discount Dance, far better prices than any of the local dance stores and I don’t have to throw elbows with dance Moms in the local shops. My only disappointment about Discount Dance is shipping. It’s fairly hefty and there weren’t any ongoing promotions for me to take advantage of. Despite me purchasing around $82.60 worth of items, I’d still be looking at paying an additional $11.43 to ship them with a grand total of $94.03.

One of the major things I was looking for more cheaply was my uber cheaply made lambs wool toe pads made by Bunheads called “fluffs“. I found them at my local shop for $16!! It’s just lambs wool woven together and then serged on the sides. Lambs wool naturally compresses with pressure and moisture/warmth and by using them in my shoes they began to lose a little of their padding. I either wanted to solve the issue in finding replacements for cheaper or add lambs wool in general to the mix to see what would work. That way I could continue using my expensive lambs wool padding for a while despite them now flattened, but the loose lambs wool still cushioning where necessary.

When I first searched Discount Dance months ago looking for the same pads after I bought them, I didn’t find them any where after using the search bar or browsing the accessories. I thought too bad, I guess I’ll have to pay $16 every time :/ wah wahhh… When I decided to make my performance purchase I figured I might as well get other things I need for dance too but not go over a huge budget. Well with my necessities and the shipping I was certainly paying a lot more than I thought necessary even if it was considered a discount dance shop!!

 

Plus side was I found the “fluffs” for $12!

Well, weighing in my options, I decided to check to see through my googlefu if there was any other websites that could offer me what I was looking for cheaper. Actually I was looking to see if I could find anywhere else that sold “fluffs” for cheap too. I found dancesupplies.com . A very generic name and a very plain basic website. A lot of stock footage as opposed to the guest visitor photo shoots and model casting at Discount Dance. Though it’s taken a while for Discount Dance to even appear as it does today. I browsed through their website and apparently they cater to dance schools mostly. A lot of basic supplies like class leotards, nude leotards, skirts, some basic warm ups and things. A basic selection of current and popular pointe shoes, jazz shoes, ballet slippers, tap, tights, etc. Of course leading is Capezio and Bloch, Eurotard and Mirella. Their selection is not as vast as Discount Dance, yet everything I needed was there down to my fluffs! They have a simple ongoing promotion for $100 orders receive free shipping. Well if I was going to pay almost $95 with shipping, why don’t I pay the full $100 and get more out of it? So I took a gamble and before placing any order I did check out the bottom of the front website. Really important to check, they usually display badges of BBB or paypal or google safe buyer cart systems, and to have those on your website you have to jump through some hoops as a store owner to put those on there. Also thoroughly reading the “contact us” info gave me a physical address and return information, shipping details, and a little bit about themselves. Grammatically correct, good spelling, and other simple things like this are key signs to say the website is pretty legit. If they have a phone number and you’re still wary, you can always give it a call and they do have a 1-800 number. I decided to go with the buy and made a purchase.

 

Their prices were either lower, higher, or at same cost at times with Discount Dance. VERY acceptable in certain circumstances I feel. Not to mention I got a nice wrap skirt and super warm leg warmers. I may have paid extra, but I got more for it than having to pay any shipping at all. Personally worth if, especially if you’re searching for basics. Their website is fairly new so despite their reviews tabs no one has provided any. I’ll definitely order from them again if I need to buy plenty of basics in a big order.

Shipping was prompt and by UPS ground. I received email notice that my order was processed and packaged for shipping, then given another message when the package was accepted with tracking number to watch it’s progress. I was concerned about my Jazz shoes because sizing is always iffy on dance shoes. They are a smidge small but I can deal with it and since I don’t have actual jazz classes I won’t use them that frequently to bother me- despite scrunching my second toe they’d find fabulously fine and are VERY comfortable.

Another concern is when reading the return/exchange policy. Any time you decide to return an item, if you don’t decide to exchange it with anything else they’ll alter the discount that may have been applied to your purchase.

“If your original order had qualified for and received any special discounts, such as a volume discount or free shipping promotion, and by returning your item the “final” order would not have qualified for the discount, the discount originally awarded will be deducted from the refunded amount.” from their shipping & return info. This put me in a little bit of a bind as Discount Dance’s preferred method of exchange is you just returning one item and at the same time buy another and just wait till the cost evens itself out. If my Jazz shoes did not fit me at all, I’d end up having to spend extra time to exchange them by shipping, waiting for their acceptance, then processing and shipping out a new pair of shoes just so I wouldn’t have any issues with my free shipping. So close to when I need my shoes for performance that turn around time is extremely difficult.

Maybe they’ll change it in the near future, we shall see.

Leave a Reply

