Drop in at eXit space

So a few Thursdays ago I had a drop in at eXit space dance studio. My friend invited me to the intermediate adult ballet class they had for an hour and a half. Not only was my friend there but there were several people from the dance camp who also attend there who’d be there that night for the adult hip hop class. I got there early because it’s next to a popular lake and it’s mostly residential and restricted parking. So few free places to park. It was made worse by the fact that there was a run that afternoon and there were still plenty of cars taking spots. I had to park a good 2-3 blocks away from the studio. Of course by the time the class started there were several open spots in front of the studio. *sigh* Why can’t I be a late person?

So I took middle barre next to my friend. The room was already toasty warm, and like I said earlier we’ve been having a warm muggy summer. So in no time I was sweating. I only wore a pair of shorties I made out of a pair of tights to keep my hip sockets warm, over my leo and tights. I always find it fascinating what people decide to wear to class. Jogging skirts, leggings with lots of layers, leg warmers all through class. While I know a lot of professionals wear warm up gear for barre and stuff, usually for a warm up class, that makes sense to me. I often wear a leg warmer around joints during class from previous injury and to help keep it warm through out class. I’m just befuddled why you’d wear them just cuz, like a fashion statement. I’m not trying to judge, I just prefer the clean lines of little to no clothes inhibiting the body’s look and motion. OKAY that tangent over (and it’s not just this studio, many are like this.)

Their arms here are different, many places I’ve noticed so. You learn to adapt and not take to heart or feel frustrated when changes are like this. Everyone’s style is different and every one teacher is taught by a mentor who was taught by a mentor. So all their styles and changes and preferences were shaped and molded by other people and their own personal aesthetics. I just love it actually, because I get to try things my mentor abhors. Like during balances motioning the arms from 2nd to first in front. Mentor thinks they look like swimming arms or… visually she just disapproves. I have no preference really, but I enjoy the way I’ve been taught the last two years to do them. Which is actually just one arm in motion, the leading arm. It’s like arabesque then comes to low 5th. We did several exercises, and I remember this teacher mentioning in a class I was at before that you should not tilt your hips to the extreme when tucking your tail bone in because it can inhibit movement. So I thought about that when we repeated a degagé exercise facing barre. I’ve never been corrected about being overly tucked in, so I couldn’t say if it was towards me, or if it’s a particular preference the teacher has. I was a little embarrassed about being the only one at the barre to be parallel to the barre during battenments. I thought there was plenty of space to do mine, but everyone went quasi. Oh well, no one was harmed. Just my pride. I held some good balances, and we did some pirouettes at the barre too. My first one was pretty good. My second a disaster. I also. WAS NOT SPOTTING!!! I think this year I need to really focus on this. The one thing I liked about my pirouettes was they felt light. I could feel that lift many teachers talk about, “like there’s a string pulling from the top of your head.” It really doesn’t feel like that, it just feels elevated. You’re super light and you’re spinning/drilling that one leg. I think I was so fascinated with this feeling it distracted my spotting. Doing an intense choreography across the floor I had good spotting. Thanks May recital piece.

This daunting choreography started out with a simple enough adagio ( I think, I could be mixing up the adagio and the other choreography). Actually… Now I remember it was a classic glissade, assamble x 2 and more I just can’t remember but you moved into step, sauté turn, step sauté turn, step sauté turn step sauté turn, then a pas de bourré, then a tombé PDB then prepare 4 pique turns 2 pique turns towards the back wall, then immediately chassé into chaines on the diagonal. I couldn’t keep the choreography up because I got so dizzy, but I was spotting well enough. I feel through I was turning too much in my pirouettes. I could be over thinking it and will ask my Mentor. There’s a few things I want to go over with her from things I’ve learned and experienced this summer. I really want to see how she feels about the tombé I learned. Overall though there’s probably steps I’m leaving out because I’ve forgotten.

We did some balances at barre too, and for not having a class recently I could hold my 4th elevé with 3rd arabesque arms rather well. Did some good balances as well in attitude derrière. I need to figure out how to make attitude devant not so daunting.

I’ve been having mental notes lately, things I want to improve on this year. Petite allegro especially. My brain gets so confused in numbers! Two in first two in second, changement twice, then … etc. etc. It really throws me off and I don’t like it. I want to be quicker and be able to do it like *snap* Yea no prob man. Strengthen my ankles more, still more flexibility and splits if I can. I get so close!!! Abduction in my inner thighs. Inner thigh strength and hips too. Work on my back of course, and my hunched over shoulders. What a big laundry list.

Two – three weeks off ballet and I’m SOOOOO out of shape. I need to get back in shape before class. Otherwise all my posts will be “Owwwwwwwww.” I don’t think there’s a translator for that.

One thought on “Drop in at eXit space

  1. I love having two teachers because they are both so different. Just like you said: you try things that your teacher hates, haha. Same goes for my dancing studio! Our one teacher is very technical, very classical in her approach, the other one is a bit more lirical and ‘loose’. They both have their pros and cons! 🙂
    Nice to have a look in another studio! Andeh, you’ll be back in shape in no time!

Leave a Reply

