Shoe talk

IMG_6674

This upcoming Saturday will be Nutcracker rehearsals. I’m a little nervous, and a little bit more so now because my Mentor’s Teacher will also be there. I mean, I’m pretty for certain my Mentor wants me for Snow and Flowers. Maybe even still for Russian, I don’t know who else can do 5-6 cartwheels, nicely with straight legs, in succession like me. I’d like to try for Arabian this year as last year my knee was hurting so bad. For Nutcracker my Mentor is determined that all those who do Snow and Flower will do it on pointe this year. YAY! Except… I’m still having issues with shoes. For the last 2-3 weeks I’ve been dancing frequently in my Bloch Axis. Modified with GM fit kit pieces, lambs wool, and more lambs wool in the forms of Bunhead Fluffs.

My GM’s, are “meh” in fit. I just pulled out .25″ of compressed lambs wool from the toe and yet I still get sinking issues which causes blisters on my left foot. Since I’ve spent almost a month on pointe and more traditional shoes my feet are strong, and trying them on and releveing was easier than it was this summer before break. The shank isn’t slanted en pointe, unlike my Blochs. They’re still overall comfortable shoes to wear, they just are still too big I guess allowing me to sink, even with a fit kit addition. I do like how low profile they are so my foot is secure to that flexi supportive shank! Better response when you go en pointe through a roll.

This morning in my email inbox I received a notice for a 15% off sale at Allaboutdance.com. After realizing how much work my shoes have been going through I knew in the next month or so my shoes might die. They’re holding up nicely though. The box is still solid and the shank is still strong and resilient. If I did decide on my Blochs by the time Nutcracker rolled around I’d need a new pair anyways for performance. That wouldn’t look beat to heck, it would be nice if my current shoes would last all the way to December, here’s hoping! Anyways, the email, the sale, I ordered a replacement pair of Bloch Axis since the price had gone up 10% since the summer!! I ordered the shoes for like $64 dollars, and when I checked on them before the sale they were $72! WHOA! What happened between then and now? I would think maybe because it was summer break there were fewer people buying shoes, but then there are intensives so I doubt it. Anyways, this sale made it a great opportunity to buy the Blochs just a smidge cheaper than what we originally paid for them. BUT! I also decided this was a good opportunity to try the Sansha Recital. I heard a lot of positive things about these shoes and they may be a great pair for myself. These shoes are traditionally cheap too, around $35-38 full retail! So I’m hoping when they arrive if they feel great I may move to a different shoe all together. Still I have my reservations.

I hate how you’ve worked with something so long with all these additions to make it “work” and then feel hesitant at trying something new when it could be beneficial. “If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it,” kinda thing… though I have gone through a lot of shoes:

Bloch Suprima MKII

Bloch Jetstream

Bloch Axis

Gaynor Minden

Cecilia Kerche Bayderé / So Danca

Chacott Veronese II

 

I’m going to spruce up my GM today and try them out in class. If I can easily adjust to them by auditions I may use them as it’s economical and my performance is fine with them. If not when I receive the Sansha Recital I’ll try them out at home and see how I like them, and if not, send them back. If I don’t like the GM this week I can switch back to Bloch Axis and send back the axis and I’ll be sercure through Nutcracker with a new pair of Blochs on the “cheap.”

Curious, I wanted to make a Pros and Cons of Bloch Axis VS Gaynor Minden:

Bloch Axis

Pros

– TMT technology breaks in shoes easily and comfortable

– outer leather sole is shaved and flat making balancing easy if promenading, or doing an attitude flat

– they smell like leather (hurr hurr)

– experience with them in balance and articulation

– cotton draw string

Cons

– shoe is larger on smaller foot, causing it to slip off back heel (maybe tightening the elastic will help?)

– shank sits askew

– breaks down (classic paste shoe)

– a little clunky sounding

 

Gaynor Mident

Pros

– cushioned heel when standing

– low profile box

– ease in demi

– economical for it’s durability from plastic technology

– quiet

Cons

– flat balance is an adjustment from bloch, the outer leather sole feels uneven to me

– the platform is a bit smaller and harder to balance on

– shank is kind of strong

– fit issues/sinking

– elastic draw strings

 

Hmmm… my feelings could change after today. We’ll see.

 

3 thoughts on “Shoe talk

  1. Good luck with the rehearsals. Just relax and have fun. I know you’ll do great. Flowers, snow and Russian are all great parts. Our Russian dance brings down the house because of the acrobatics.

  2. I hope you get the part you want!! Good luck with rehearsals and those pointe shoe problems… it’s always the same with those darn things!

Leave a Reply

