Wednesday post on Saturday

Well, it’s already Wednesday. Guess I have time to do a write up.

I’m exhausted. I’ve been dancing since the Saturday after Black Friday. I haven’t stopped. I was a total grump when my Husband prodded me out of bed to go to our Dog’s Dr. appointment (allergies for the poor guy.)

Lets see… how it all went.

Well, this was the first time I’ve performed en pointe. I mean this summer I did too, in my first PDD also, but my first real and LONG performance. The Doll solo was given to me which seemed rather short now that I did it a second year. Last year it felt like eternity dancing and sitting on the floor. This year’s doll version was adjusted and changed. I had no pique turns to concern myself with. Just popping up en pointe and rolling down. Then piquing in a row with my free foot in second flexed. Waltz turns and chaines. Some how though after sitting on the floor and staring at it for several minutes, when I took my leave of the stage doing chaines off stage I got disoriented and dizzy and ended up falling off pointe ungraciously. While earlier my chaine turns were spot on. I chalk it up to disorientation in the dark. Even spotting just wasn’t helping it.

Then I had to quick change into my Snow costume. Wasn’t too quick, but you had to be quick enough. I had to switch pointe shoes, add a tiara, and tug off one costume and tug on another. One of the first audience performances I forgot my arm fluffies. Went out there with out them and lived to see another day! LOL there isn’t much you can do and you just go for it and no one really notices unless they’re looking.

Overall Snow was great. We were really getting into the groove of it, yet all of us was still struggling with a leap in the middle of a run while being in a circle. On the 10th count you coupe back, coupe front, turn, leap, coupe back, coupe front while turning, while running in a circle. Never failed by that time any rosin or water used to cause traction had dissipated because it’s so late in the dance that my feet were slipping all over the floor.

My Husband gave me feedback about the whole performance, and said that Snow is his least favorite dance. He just doesn’t enjoy the choreography. It’s not to say he doesn’t like classical ballet he actually prefers it, it just didn’t seem to work for him. I honestly agree, the way Tchaikovsky wrote that music is pure brilliance. When I listen to the music alone I literally see gentle snow falling, then thrashing fast snow that quickly calms down to gentle again. It’s the perfect audio example of snow I’ve ever heard. Except that the choreography is based off of Petipa’s original work anyways and the fact that we only had 5 dancers including myself makes it a very sad snow storm. I still enjoyed doing the choreography has it was difficult and I still wish I had time to perfect it but it’s all done and over with. The final performance night though I was exhausted and it was beginning to show. I applied too much water to cause friction in my pointe shoes and ended up slipping and falling off pointe. I popped back up and continued on and kept mentally telling myself to just keep doing what I’ve been doing all week. Except that didn’t work. I missed many steps and deer in headlight-ed my way through a few other things. Oy vey.

My Mentor charged downstairs after our dance during intermission and reminded us to focus.

Things were going a little better until I forgot to pull down the ankle part of my “harem” pants. So they were stuck around my knees. Also I didn’t tape down my pointe shoe ribbons and they got a little messy. BAWWWW…

Russian went okay, but no one enjoyed the energy and didn’t clap or anything. So it felt very disappointing. Arabian got guffed several times but no body knew exactly what was going on anyways. I slipped many times going from my cartwheel into the splits. That floor was very slippery. I landed hard many a times and as gracefully as I possibly could. I was also further on stage than in our rehearsal because we have a dance floor area that would be the equivalent to an orchestra pit, but it’s just floor. So when I finished my dance and I’m supposed to just slink off I had to go upstage and then off stage.

Quick change to Flowers, luckily there’s a lull where we aren’t all on stage just three other people. Then we go on stage. It went very well and people seemed to enjoy it. That was nice. Managing a large garland in your hand though is tedious and hard work. After that was finished then I had to change again back into doll for the finale. THEN, after all was said and done we had to run off to before the audience got downstairs and be ready for pictures. So you’re sweaty and tired and your legs and feet hurt. It’s still fun though and everyone is so kind to tell you how much they enjoyed watching us dance.

This Nutcracker will most likely be my last in a while if completely. I’ve done two years and I’m thankful to have to done so and have the experience. Since I’m leaving the studio that does it and my Mentor will no longer be Directing it, I’m not sure what my chances are in being in another one any time soon. I’m okay with that for now haha.

Overall I felt Nutcracker went well. There was little to no drama. I had a great time with all my dancing friends. We had a beautiful Sugar Plum who is also cool and we’re no friends on Facebook. Never fails every holiday my Facebook blows up with new friends added because of dance. That’s an awesome feeling. I got to dance en pointe and do everything from a solo to a large prop group, to sexy sexy style dance. It’s been a great and wonderful memorable experience and I’m glad I got to be apart of it all.

Sunday will be my final performance of 2013 then Husband and I will jet off to Disneyland!! Then I’ll be in Vegas to visit family. I hope to have photos of my Nutcracker soon, I’m just not sure when.

4 thoughts on “Wednesday post on Saturday

  1. Haha I’m sorry but I laughed a bit at all your little slip ups! Forgetting the arm fluffs, forgetting to pull down the harem pants.. But these are all just small things. I read you had a great time and that is what it’s all about!

    • I’m glad I’m not the only one laughing! They’re spoofs and I’m okay with them. It’s better to laugh than be angry or cry. After it happens there’s nothing you can do to change the past.

      • And that’s a very good thing to keep in mind indeed! I had another fall in class last Friday so I really needed to be remembered, haha! 😉

Leave a Reply

