Wow

I had such a great class tonight!! It was subbed, but it didn’t matter as I hadn’t had the chance to go until tonight.

Unfortunately the rest of the weeks classes have been canceled because the instructors are all sick!! So I only got to do tonight. Bawwww. If and when I come back this summer I’ll be sure to stop in again.

After a week and a half of no class it was awesome to move again. This teacher, Elena, must’ve been a pro dancer at one time and then segwayed into being a Pilates teacher instructor.

She was such a good instructor! Enthusiastic about teaching us and helpings understand. I’m so sad I don’t know if and when I’ll ever take a class with her again! Here’s hoping in the future.

Overall The Rock School of Dance‘s updated and newly moved studio is a great place. Clean large studios. Marley flooring. Big huge mirrors. There’s a specific room/area with vending machines and bar seating so if you’re a student who studies frequently there’s space for you to eat. Big cubby grid for your stuff.

And just a small jaunt is a Starbucks. The website is useful for scheduling, tuition and drop in prices, and informing you about the instructors and their back ground. There is a lot available in scheduling for adults from jazz, modern, tap, hip hop, ballet, etc.

So the class, I arrived early and signed in, paid for class, and waited and watched a jazz class. I was worried no one else would come and they may cancel the class. Another adult ballet-er popped in. We thought we’d be the only ones. Elena was kind enough to let us wear leg warmers and my t-shirt to stay warmed up while in the studio. I quickly peeled it off as she demanded a lot of visual identification in our pointe and body. We were doing a lot with sur le coup de pied. My tiny bone in my right heel had been painful with the extra flexibility I’ve mustered as of late. It grinds against the other bones and causes weakness when I go over my pointe where it’s caught between my leg bones and my feet bones. It was painful to pointe in class as it needs extra warming up which I didn’t get to do.

We did a great circle port de bras in 5th – like ya do – but she said watch your arm, which I normally always do, but she held my wrist and pulled me farther than I have been. Really making me utilize all my muscles in my core, sides, and back. It was amazing feeling. Very hard to stay on your feet when that happens.

She also emphasized making your butt smile. Meaning engage your turn out muscles and not tense your butt. This really worked my weak muscles and I will really focus on that and my stance more now. She focused on me a lot and things my Mentor chides me on frequently. Like pulling up and not sinking into my pelvis, stiff hips, keep my back up, etc. It was great for her to recognize the same faults at the same time depressing that I haven’t made too much progress and I still have the same issues. They’ve gotten better but still there, silly elephant in a room!!

She emphasized on using the ball of your foot more. Causing a lot of friction and really making your foot and leg work more. Helping me elongate my leg from my tight hip joint in tendu. Helped me work on my arabesque with lifting my leg. She told me I have a good core I just have to elongate, soften, and hold it just right more.

The class was basic but good. A lot of the people were below me in technique. Their feet were stiffer and working harder to pointe, to hold their pointe to the ground when they tendu instead of plopping it up. Also managing their hips and torso core. Oh yea, 3 people popped in from the jazz class and worked with us.

We did tendus in the center, we’d go back, forward, front, back. While doing the tendu exercise she wanted us to imagine we had big heavy capes on that drew our shoulders back. It was good imagery for me. Started getting into prep work for pirouettes. I was worried she wasn’t going to allow us to do turns but with work on control to front and back half turns we were able to do piques and a tombe pdb tendu fourth pirouette tendu combination.

We also did a spotting exercise where we spun like kids it was hard and made me dizzy, but still shows that I tense my neck when spotting instead of letting go. Work work work. Mad props to you little 2 year old.

When we did piques she didn’t like the method I was using. She wanted it to pique, then be quasi with arms in second, then bring in our arms/turn and repeat. She wanted us to “fly” it was different and made me very aware of myself in space. It also made me plié more in prep. Elena also wanted us to have bigger arms farther away from the body while my Mentor teaches them closer to the body. Small differences that don’t really affect me, I adjust what and when I can.

We got some leaps in but nothing really to write home about. No grand allegro or anything. Which is good because it’s tiring. We did do a large step across the floor, she did it from a “passé sissone tombe pdb sauté passé, repeat” the steps were so big and traveled so much you were supposed to get only two sets in. The “sissone” though was causing confusion as people thought the leap not the fact that your leg lifts just a little like an arabesque. So some people began to over think it.

I didn’t watch too many people, there was only five of us. My Dad ended up watching a good portion which he enjoyed. He hasn’t seen me dance in over a year!! So he really liked that he could watch. Otherwise majority of the group started out very confident, yet usually sliding to the back to watch me go first. I tried to be polite as it was my first class and not my studio. I prefer to at least have the regulars go first.
One very confident dancer always lead, but didn’t always know what she was doing or how to execute it. When going to the left diagonally in pique turns she actually got confused and tried to attempt them going on the right again. I had to situate her. She also wasn’t spotting. I could go on but won’t. They also seemed so much younger than me as well. Ugh.

We did have a guy in my class!! what I’ve noticed in a lot of beginner men their movements are very stiff, stocatto, but great leaps. How do you men know how to use those thighs and glutes?

Classmates were overall very nice. Not snooty, rude, loud, or talkative. They were focused and of course naturally curious of the new comer. But didn’t talk or anything to me. Not in a bad way. I didn’t have a chatty person in my ear all class.

I took a great deal away, really enjoyed the class. I would highly recommend this studio if you’re visiting Las Vegas. It’s a 30+ min drive from the strip so it is in suburbia. It’s only a 5 min. Drive from my Dad’s. If you get a chance be sure to go! The do accept CC, checks, or cash. I took the beg/inter and think I may do okay in inter/adv.
The Rock School of Dance

2 thoughts on “Wow

  1. Sounds like you had a good class! It’s always nice to feel like you’ve pretty much got the hang of things. And also, in a way, good to know that your regular ballet instructor sees the same things as this one did 🙂 That makes sure that you really know what you have to work on and that it is consistent with other teacher’s points of view !

Leave a Reply

